1 Question for People Who Won’t Wave the Rainbow Flag

I’ve read the DeYoung piece, and 2-3 different responses from folks along the spectrum of possible responses. This is the one. The one that really boils it down for me. Smacks me in the face. It’s a single simple question. And it’s the answer. Love it.

knitting soul

rainbow flag

A few days ago, Kevin DeYoung asked 40 Question For Christians Now Waving Rainbow Flags. Because I’ve been waving my rainbow flag for the past 5 years, I thought about responding, but the truth is, others have done a fantastic job of that already.

Here’s the thing. I’m out of patience for this. DeYoung asks his 40 questions, but they all boil down to the same thing. Prove that you’re right. Prove that God is on your side. Prove that you deserve what I already have.

I’m tired of it. I’m tired of the assumption that my gay friends are the ones who need to be answering questions. I’m tired of the assumption that they need to justify their faith to those who fancy themselves the gatekeepers of Christianity. I’m tired of the woe are we attitude from those who have been a part of movements to bar LGBTQ people…

View original post 424 more words

2 thoughts on “1 Question for People Who Won’t Wave the Rainbow Flag

  1. Hi Greg – this is beautiful! Thanks for sharing it. I’m going to follow both of your blogs. Thanks for following me at Writing with Spirit. I see you posted from Doug Padgitt. Were you at the Wild Goose Festival book release?

Leave a Reply

