Singing Praise

“Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God.  Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” Mark 10:14-15

I met a little girl this past Saturday. She is 5. I know this because when I asked her how old she was, she bent at the waist, looked at me upside down, and shoved her outstretched hand toward me, saying “this many”. I’m certain she could have told me she was 5 straight out. But she’s 5. And this little girl is very brave.

She asked to sing today. Now, what’s brave about that, you might ask? This little girl walked out to a woman, a stranger named Miss Vickie, and asked her to sing. Just like that. Can I sing too? Miss Vickie was performing at an event for my church, and her new partner, after getting ready to sing, worked her way through The Itsy Bitsy Spider, and another about 5 ducks. Unabashedly stumbling at times, and smiling and dancing all the way through. She made me wonder where the spirit and courage we hold as children goes, when it goes away. As it does for many of us.  Oh, and this little girl had no home to return to after her day was done.  She was to be getting in a van and going to a another church in the area to sleep.  She and her family are homeless.

Young lady, I owe you. I told you then that I was impressed. And I told you to keep singing, fearlessly. What I didn’t realize at the time, was that I was speaking as much to me as I was you. So, thanks. Keep Singing. Out. Loud.

Leave a Reply

